About TESOL

TESOL Board of Directors

Meet the board elected by the TESOL membership.

Read more

TESOL Strategic Plan

TESOL's 3 year Strategic Plan. 2011 - 2014

Read more

History of TESOL

Written by TESOL's first Executive Director, James Alatis.

Read more

Bylaws and Standing Rules

TESOL is governed by a set of bylaws and standing rules.

Read more

TESOL Staff Office Information and Directory

TESOL International Association has a dedicated staff of 21 professionals who work at the TESOL office in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. The TESOL office is open Monday-Friday, 9 am-5 pm ET, except major U.S. holidays. Visitors are welcome during regular business hours. To contact individual staff members, please see the TESOL staff directory below. 

To contact TESOL Board Members, please visit the TESOL Board Members page.

For more information about TESOL International Association, please visit the About TESOL page.

TESOL Staff Office

Mailing Address

1925 Ballenger Avenue, Suite 550
Alexandria, Virginia 22314-6820 USA

Telephone

Main:  +1 703.836.0774
Fax: +1 703.836.7864 or 6447
      
Membership (Toll Free in U.S.): 1 888.547.3369      
Membership: +1 240.646.7048      
Publications: 1 888.891.0041

Email

General information: info@tesol.org

Directions

The office is located in the Old Town area of Alexandria, Virginia, and is easily accessible from major highways and public transportation.

Staff Directory

To reach a staff member by telephone, dial the main phone line, +1 703.836.0774 or direct dial 703.518.2XXX where XXX is the staff person's 3-digit extension. Each extension includes a voicemail box. 

To reach staff via email, click on the staff member's name in the directory below.

Executive Office

The Executive Director's office manages the TESOL office and staff in Alexandria, VA. and  provides support to the Board of Directors
Rosa Aronson
Executive Director
raronson@tesol.org x505
Rita Gainer
Executive Assistant
rgainer@tesol.org x507
Rodney Brown
Office Services Administrator
rbrown@tesol.org x518



Public Policy and Communications

Responsible for researching, monitoring, and analyzing policy and professional issues, and communicating and advocating TESOL's positions on policy and professional issues to internal and external audiences. This includes identifying and proposing strategies for establishing and advancing mission-related relationships with government agencies, the media, national associations, and other organizations. Areas of responsibility include advocacy and government relations,  media outreach, and standards, association awards and grants, and relations with TESOL Affiliates.
John Segota
Associate Executive Director for Public Policy and Professional Relations
jsegota@tesol.org x513
Valerie Borchelt
Professional Relations Manager
vborchelt@tesol.org x532
Craig Triplett
Digital Content Manager
ctriplett@tesol.org x526
Jaime Mattos
Information Technology Manager
 jmattos@tesol.org x529
Cydny Black
Program Assistant
 cblack@tesol.org  x534
Advocacy Issues advocacy@tesol.org
Awards awards@tesol.org
Affiliates affiliates@tesol.org  


Conference Services

Conference Services books appropriate facilities for all TESOL events and schedules sessions and manages the TESOL Annual Convention & English Language Expo.  You may contact staff with any questions about future bookings, assistance in affiliate conventions, volunteering, or participating in future conventions.
Lisa Dyson, CMP
Director of Conference Services
ldyson@tesol.org x515
Catherine Curtis
Conference & Exhibits Services Manager
ccurtis@tesol.org x538
Rodney Brown
Conference Services Coordinator
rbrown@tesol.org x518
Convention Services (General)

Convention Exhibits

Job MarketPlace, Recruiter Info
conventions@tesol.org

exhibits@tesol.org

jmp@tesol.org

Education Programs

In coordination with TESOL's Professional Development Committee (PDC), we develop professional educational programs such as academies, symposiums, pre- and postconvention institutes, and online education courses and seminars. We manage the Leadership Development Certificate Program (LDCP), the Principles and Practices of Online Teaching Certificate Program, and the TESOL Core Certificate Program. Also, make sure to visit the TESOL Resource Center, an online peer-to-peer learning platform for TESOL members to find and share a variety of resources with peers in the profession such as lesson plans, papers, and more. TESOL's Education Programs staff also support TESOL's Interest Section leaders.  Please contact us if you would like more information about TESOL educational programs.
Sarah Sahr
Director of Education Programs
ssahr@tesol.org x516
Srisucha McCabe
Professional Development Manager
smccabe@tesol.org x514
Laurie Williams
Education Programs Coordinator
lwilliams@tesol.org
X527
Bita Bookman
Education Projects Manager
bbookman@tesol.org
X536
TESOL Resource Center

resourcecenter@tesol.org

TESOL Core Certificate Program corecertificate@tesol.org

Finance and Administration

We administer TESOL's budget, provide financial information to the board and membership, and process payments for membership, products, and events. You may contact us with concerns about payment processing or financial administration.

Jim Trope
Director of Finance
jtrope@tesol.org x504
Pat Harris
Sr. Accountant
pharris@tesol.org x503

Marketing and Member Services

The department oversees all marketing, membership, publishing, and IT services for TESOL. This includes submissions of all articles for TESOL journals and newsletters, publication of TESOL books, all content for the TESOL website, and TESOL external communications.

Barry Pilson, CAE
Director, Marketing & Membership
bpilson@tesol.org x512
Carol Edwards
Publishing Manager
cedwards@tesol.org x525
Tomiko Breland
Editor/Publications Project Manager
tbreland@tesol.org x527
Meghan Moran
Marketing Manager
 mmoran@tesol.org x517
Nancy Flores
Membership Coordinator
nflores@tesol.org x500

General Information

Membership Services

Career Development

TESOL Connections

info@tesol.org

members@tesol.org

careers@tesol.org

tesolconnections@tesol.org

Publications Orders

For Advertisers

TESOL Quarterly

TESOL Journal
tesolpubs@brightkey.net

advertise@tesol.org

tq@tesol.org

tj@tesol.org


Directions to the TESOL Staff Office

TESOL's office is located minutes from DC's Reagan National Airport and Capitol Hill. It is also a 10-minute walk from the King Street–Old Town Metro Station.

Driving from Reagan National Airport

  • Take the George Washington Parkway south toward Alexandria
  • As you enter Alexandria, the parkway becomes North Washington Street. (After crossing King Street, North Washington Street becomes South Washington Street)
  • After crossing King Street, follow South Washington Street for 2 blocks
  • Turn right on Duke Street. Go 0.8 miles
  • Turn left on John Carlyle Street. Follow John Carlyle Street through one roundabout (circle)
  • Turn right on Ballenger Avenue 

TESOL's office is located in the red brick building on the right side of the street. TESOL is in Suite 550 on the fifth floor, accessible from the lobby entrance on Ballenger Avenue.

Parking: The parking garage for the building is also on the right, immediately past a storefront with an orange awning. Guest parking is available for a fee. Take the office elavator to the 5th floor. There is very limited metered street parking in the area.

Using the Metro

Take the blue or yellow metro line to the King Street–Old Town Metro Station. The TESOL office is located approximately half a mile from the station, which is about a 10-minute walk. Taxis are also readily available.

  • After exiting the King Street–Old Town metro station, take an immediate right and walk along the sidewalk to the pedestrian tunnel under Duke Street. The tunnel exits on Dulany Street.
  • Continue on Dulany Street for two blocks.
  • Turn left on Ballenger Avenue.
  • Pass Robek's Yogurt shop on your left hand side and enter at 1925 Ballenger Avenue main lobby.
  • Take the office elevator to 5th floor.  The TESOL office is to your left, in Suite 550.