This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

2021 TESOL Election Slate

The election slate for the 2021 TESOL International Association President-Elect, Board of Directors, and Nominating Committee is below. 

The voting period was from 30 October 2020 to 20 November 2020.  View election results. If you have questions about the election, please contact Rita Buckner (+1 703.518.2507).

President-Elect, 2021–2022 (President 2022–2023) 

Joyce Kling
University of Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Denmark

Shelley Taylor

Western University 
London, Ontario, Canada


Board of Directors, 2021–2024

The Board of Directors will have three open seats.

Amy Alice Chastain
ESL Programs
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa, USA

Tamara Jones
Howard Community College
Columbia, Maryland, USA

Graciela Martin
Instituto Cultural Argentino Norteamericano
Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Mawa Samb
CRFPE (Centre Régional de Formation des Personnels de l'Education)
Dakar, Senegal

Virginia Simmons
Interamerican Academy
Guayaquil, Ecuador

Nominating Committee, 2021

The Nominating Committee will have eight open seats.

Kisha Bryan
Tennessee State University
Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Valerie Jakar
Educator (Retired)
Jerusalem, Israel

Georgios Vlassios Kormpas 
Al Yamamah University 
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Stephen Looney
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, Pennsylvania, USA

Benjamin McMurry
Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah, USA

Alex Monceaux
Orange, Texas, USA

Marnie Reed
Boston University 
Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Dudley Reynolds
Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar
Doha, Qatar

Zuzana Tomas
Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Misty Wilson
Savannah, Georgia, USA

Saihua Xia
Murray State University
Murray, Kentucky, USA