This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

2023 TESOL Election Slate

The election slate for the 2023 TESOL International Association president-elect, board of directors, and Nominating Committee is below. 

The voting period will be from 17 October 2022 to 7 November 2022.  Please direct questions to Rita Buckner (+1 703.518.2507).

President-Elect, 2023–2024 (President 2024–2025)

Grazzia Mendoza
USAID Honduras
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras 

Debra Suarez
Career Educator and National Adviser
Washington DC, USA 

Board of Directors

(Select two of the four names)

Kisha C. Bryan
Tennessee State University
Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Susan Gaer
Independent Consultant
Grover Beach, California, USA

DJ Kaiser
Webster University
St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Cynthia S. Wiseman
City University of New York
New York, New York, USA

Nominating Committee, 2023

(Select six of the seven names)**

Michelle Benegas
Hamline University
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

Katya (Ekaternia) Goussakova
Seminole State College of Florida
Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

Dawn Lucovich
The University of Nagano
Nagano, Japan

James Papple
York University
St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Stacy Suhadolc
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, Pennsylvania, USA

Debra West
Freelance Consultant
Paris, France

Dawn Wink
Santa Fe Community College
Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

**TESOL’s Policy Manual states that the Nominating Committee shall consist of eight members in addition to the Chair and Past Chair. The Nominating Committee presents a slate of 12 individuals to run for the eight positions. Applications for 2023 Nominating Committee candidates were reviewed and seven were approved. Therefore, the TESOL Board of Directors approved a temporary reduction in Nominating Committee members (from eight to six) who would be selected from a slate of seven for the 2023 election cycle (only).