This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Initiative

Following recommendations from the TESOL Diverse Voices Task Force (DVTF) TESOL International Association launched an association-wide effort to increase diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in all aspects of its governance and operations. 

Over a period of 18 months, members of the task force, led by co-chairs Dr. Kisha Bryan and Dr. Eric Dwyer, have voluntarily spent their time researching, collecting, and analyzing data, and formulating recommendations to the TESOL Board of Directors. Their effort and its resulting product will be remembered as an inflexion point in the life of the association and its stakeholders. A summary of the task force's work and survey data is available below.  

The TESOL Board of Directors is immensely grateful to this group of dedicated TESOL professionals for having lent their collective knowledge, expertise, and experience in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for the purpose of helping the association elevate its standing, reputation, and leadership in this critical, emerging topic in global English language education. By providing their expertise, Task Force members have enabled us to fill a gap in the organization’s mission, vision, and core values. 

Town Hall Meetings

Two virtual meetings were held on 7 and 8 July. Recordings are available on TESOL's YouTube channel and linked here. Watch TESOL's social media channels for more information.

Watch on Demand 

Task Force Members

Kisha Bryan, Co-chair
Eric Dwyer, Co-chair
Arlene Costello, Member
Luciana de Oliveira, Member
Phoenicia Grant, Member
Abdulsamad Humaidan, Member
Sara Kangas, Member
Noreen Mirza, Member
Mary Romney, Member
Yasmine Romero, Member
Federico Salas-Isnardi, Member
Deborah Healey, Board Liaison
Rita Buckner, Staff Partner

Summary Report

Survey Data