This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

More About TESOL

TESOL Strategic Plan

Learn about the vision and direction of TESOL through 2014

Read more

Advertise with TESOL

Reach the TESOL membership by promoting your products in TESOL publications.

Read more

Board of Directors

Board members are volunteers and are elected by the membership.

Read more


Become a TESOL member and gain access to a wealth of resources.

Read more
About TESOL Banner

Press Room

Welcome to TESOL's Press Room, where members of the press and news media can find information and the latest announcements from TESOL International Association. For interviews and questions on TESOL press releases contact David Cutler, policy and communications ​manager.

Learn more about TESOL International Association by viewing the About TESOL pages.

TESOL News and Press Releases

TESOL International Association Announces 2017 Award Recipients

by User Not Found | 03/16/2017
Alexandria, VA (16 March 2017) – Every year, TESOL International Association offers over 80 awards through its Awards, Honors, and Grants Program. Nearly 100 TESOL members volunteer to support these awards by reviewing applications.

The recipients are being recognized for their service to the association and/or scholarship in the field of English language teaching. The award recipients will be honored at the 2017 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo, 21–24 March in Seattle, Washington, USA.

The 2017 award recipients are

Outstanding Advocate Honor: Gil Mendoza, Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, USA

The TESOL Virginia French Allen Award for Scholarship and Service: Cynthia M. Schuemann, Miami Dade College, USA

The Mary Finocchiaro Award for Excellence in Unpublished Pedagogical Materials: Amanda Swearingen, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA

The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study: Ju Seong (John) Lee, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

The TESOL Award for an Outstanding Paper on NNEST Issues: Li-Shih Huang, University of Victoria, Canada

• The D. Scott Enright TESOL Interest Section Service Award: Nikki Ashcraft, University of Missouri, USA

The TESOL Award for Distinguished Research: Gary Barkhuizen, University of Auckland, New Zealand

TESOL previously announced the 2017 recipients of the James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL, TESOL President’s Award, and TESOL Teacher of the Year.

TESOL also awards scholarships and travel grants to enable TESOL members to attend the annual TESOL Convention & English Language Expo. Sponsors of those awards include Betty Azar, ETS, Eastern Carolina University, and the English Language Institute, University of Pittsburgh.

Download a copy of the full press release here