This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.


More About TESOL

TESOL Strategic Plan

Learn about the vision and direction of TESOL through 2014

Read more

Advertise with TESOL

Reach the TESOL membership by promoting your products in TESOL publications.

Read more

Board of Directors

Board members are volunteers and are elected by the membership.

Read more


Become a TESOL member and gain access to a wealth of resources.

Read more
About TESOL Banner

Press Room

Welcome to TESOL's Press Room, where members of the press and news media can find information and the latest announcements from TESOL International Association. For interviews and questions on TESOL press releases contact David Cutler, director of advocacy and outreach.

Learn more about TESOL International Association by viewing the About TESOL pages.

TESOL News and Press Releases

TESOL Announces Election Results

by Valerie Novick | 11/08/2018
TESOL International Association is pleased to share the results of its 2019 leadership elections. Newly elected members will be installed at the TESOL Annual Business Meeting ​during the TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo in Atlanta, Georgia, USA. 

Congratulations to the following elected leaders:

President-Elect, 2019–20​20

Deborah Short
Academic Language Research & Training
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Board of Directors, 2019–2022

Grazzia Mendoza Chirinos
Tegucigalpa, Honduras 

Justin Shewell
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona, USA

Debra Suarez
Career Educator and National Advisor
Washington, DC, USA

Nominating Committee, 2019–2020

Angela Bell

Missouri State University
Springfield, Missouri, USA

Marcela Cintra
Cultura Inglesa São Paulo
São Paulo, Brazil

Aymen Elsheikh
Texas A&M University at Qatar
Doha, Qatar

Fan Fang
Shantou University
Shantou, Guangdong, China

Holly Hansen-Thomas
Texas Woman's University
Denton, Texas, USA

Jana Moore
Moanalua High School
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Christine Nicodemus
Pitt Community College
Winterville, North Carolina, USA

Cynthia Wiseman
Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY
New York, New York, USA

The Executive Committee, Board of Directors, and Nominating Committee wish to thank all members who expressed an interest in serving the association and all candidates who agreed to be on the ballot. Your leadership makes the association stronger.