This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.


More About TESOL

TESOL Strategic Plan

Learn about the vision and direction of TESOL through 2014

Read more

Advertise with TESOL

Reach the TESOL membership by promoting your products in TESOL publications.

Read more

Board of Directors

Board members are volunteers and are elected by the membership.

Read more


Become a TESOL member and gain access to a wealth of resources.

Read more
About TESOL Banner

Press Room

Welcome to TESOL's Press Room, where members of the press and news media can find information and the latest announcements from TESOL International Association. For interviews and questions on TESOL press releases contact David Cutler, director of advocacy and outreach.

Learn more about TESOL International Association by viewing the About TESOL pages.

TESOL News and Press Releases

TESOL International Association Recognizes 2021 Award Recipients

by David Cutler | 02/25/2021
Every year, TESOL International Association (TESOL) offers more than 80 awards through its Awards, Honors, and Grants Program. Over 100 TESOL members volunteer to support these awards by reviewing applications.

TESOL is pleased to recognize the following recipients for their service to the association and/or scholarship in the field of English language teaching. Several recipients will be acknowledged during the virtual TESOL 2021 International Convention & English Language Expo, 24–27 March.

The 2021 award recipients are:
·  The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study: Svetlana Koltovskaia, Oklahoma State University,         USA
·  The D. Scott Enright TESOL Interest Section Service Award: Veronica Sardegna, Duquesne University, USA
·  The TESOL Award for Distinguished Research: Azar Tajabadi, Arak and Mofid Universities, Iran
·  The Ron Chang Lee Award for Excellence in Classroom Technology: Rihab Al Maafa, Ministry of Education,       Saudi Arabia
·  The TESOL Virginia French Allen Award for Scholarship and Service: Margi Wald, University of California,         Berkeley, USA

TESOL previously announced the 2021 recipients of the James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL: Federico Salas-Isnardi and TESOL Teacher of the Year: Khanh-Duc Kuttig.

TESOL awards scholarships and grants to help TESOL members attend the annual TESOL Convention & English Language Expo. More than 20 individuals received grants and scholarships in 2021. Sponsors of these awards include National Geographic Learning, Betty Azar, the Meral Güçeri family, ETS/TOEFL, East Carolina University, and the English Language Institute, University of Pittsburgh.

To support the association’s awards and grants through a donation, please visit the TESOL website.

Download a copy of the full press release here.