This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.


More About TESOL

TESOL Strategic Plan

Learn about the vision and direction of TESOL through 2014

Read more

Advertise with TESOL

Reach the TESOL membership by promoting your products in TESOL publications.

Read more

Board of Directors

Board members are volunteers and are elected by the membership.

Read more


Become a TESOL member and gain access to a wealth of resources.

Read more
About TESOL Banner

Press Room

Welcome to TESOL's Press Room, where members of the press and news media can find information and the latest announcements from TESOL International Association. For interviews and questions on TESOL press releases contact Jeff Hutcheson, director of advocacy and public policy.

Learn more about TESOL International Association by viewing the About TESOL pages.

TESOL News and Press Releases

2023 Election Results

by Juliet Mason | 11/09/2022
TESOL International Association (TESOL) is pleased to announce the 2023 election results. These newly elected leaders will be installed at the 2023 TESOL Annual Business Meeting scheduled for Friday, 24 March in Portland, Ore., USA. Congratulations to the following elected leaders: 

The President-Elect serves a 1-year term beginning March 2023. 

  Debra Suarez
Career Educator and National Adviser
Washington, D.C., USA 

Board of Directors
These leaders will serve a 3-year term beginning in March 2023. 

  Kisha Bryan
Tennessee State University 
Nashville, Tenn., USA

Cynthia Wiseman
City University of New York
New York, N.Y., USA

TESOL also extends congratulations to the newly elected members of the nominating committee. Nominating committee members serve a 1-year term beginning in January 2023. 

Nominating Committee

  Elena Andrei (Chair)
Cleveland State University
Cleveland, Ohio USA 
Georgios Kormpas (Past Chair)
Al Yamamah University
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Michelle Benegas
Hamline University
St. Paul, Minn. USA

Ekaterina Goussakova
Seminole State College of Florida
Altamonte Springs, Fla. USA

Dawn Lucovich
The University of Nagano
Nagano, Japan

James Papple
York University
St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

Stacy Suhadolc
The Pennsylvania State University 
University Park, Pa., USA

Dawn Wink
Santa Fe Community College 
Santa Fe, N.M, USA

The executive committee, board of directors, and nominating committee wish to thank all members who expressed an interest in serving the association and all candidates who agreed to be on the ballot. Your leadership makes the association stronger.