This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

Standards for Initial TESOL Pre-K–12 Teacher Preparation Programs

The Standards for Initial TESOL Pre-K–12 Teacher Preparation Programs outline the professional expertise needed to prepare effective Pre-K–12 TESOL educators in the United States. The Commission for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) uses these performance-based standards for national recognition of teacher education programs. The standards were approved in late 2018 and succeed the 2010 Standards for the Recognition of Initial TESOL Programs in P–12 ESL Teacher Education (sometimes referred to as the TESOL/CAEP Standards or the TESOL Professional Teaching Standards).

For programs seeking CAEP national recognition, the 2010 standards are applicable to program reports submitted through 2021. Programs seeking CAEP national recognition can use either the 2010 or 2018 standards through Fall 2021. Beginning in 2022 programs submitting initial reports must use the 2018 standards.

Initial Program Report with
Two Applications of Data
 Which Standards?
 Fall 2019  2010
 Spring 2020  2010 or 2018
 Fall 2020  2010 or 2018
 Spring 2021  2010 or 2018
 Fall 2021  2010 or 2018
 Spring 2022  2018 only