This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Award Recipients Top Banner

Research and Materials Awards

These awards acknowledge TESOL members for their outstanding research contributions and for creating exceptional teaching materials.

Access the Latest Research and Materials Awards Documents:
  • The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study
    TESOL members who are or have been enrolled within the past year in a TESOL or TEFL graduate program that prepares teachers to teach ESOL are eligible for this award. The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study supports recent or current graduate students in the development of projects with direct application to ESOL language classroom instruction.
  • TESOL Award for Teacher as Classroom Action Researcher
    Any instructor who is a TESOL member, who has at least 5 years of English language teaching experience, and who has completed a significant classroom action research project is eligible to apply. This award recognizes excellence in action research on English language teaching and learning in an ESL/EFL classroom. The award is sponsored by the College Board.
  • TESOL Award for Distinguished Research
    Any TESOL member who has completed an empirical research project and a subsequent scholarly paper that will be published in 2011 in TESOL Quarterly or another scholarly journal is eligible to apply. This award recognizes excellence in any area of research on language teaching and learning. The award is sponsored by Heinle, a part of Cengage Learning.
  • TESOL Award for an Outstanding Paper on NNEST Issues
    TESOL members who have had a proposal accepted for presentation (paper or colloquium) on NNEST issues at the annual TESOL convention are eligible to apply. Both native and nonnative speakers of English may apply. This award recognizes scholarship on NNEST issues and is sponsored by East Carolina University.
  • The Mary Finocchiaro Award for Excellence in Nonpublished Pedagogical Materials
    Any TESOL member is eligible to apply. This award recognizes a TESOL member(s) who has achieved excellence through the development of practical pedagogical materials not currently under consideration for publication.