This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Award Recipients Top Banner

TESOL Presidents' Award

Every year the TESOL president, in collaboration with the president-elect and the past president, selects a recipient for the annual Presidents’ Award. The award honors individuals and organizations outside of TESOL who have demonstrated a commitment to English-language instruction, helped TESOL further its mission, and supported education in general. Past recipients of the TESOL Presidents' Award come from diverse backgrounds and include The British Council, UNICEF, and the Peace Corps.

2021 Presidents' Award Recipient: International Rescue Committee (IRC): Education team

With its earliest roots dating back to 1933, the IRC has been strongly committed to responding to the world’s worst humanitarian crises and helping people impacted by conflicts around the world. Currently operating in 40 countries and in 20 cities within the United States, the IRC and its teams on the ground help provide clean water, shelter, health care, education, and empowerment support to refugees and displaced people. In response to the ongoing global struggle with the COVID-19 pandemic, the IRC has implemented broad, bold programs to integrate support services while helping learners develop a wide range of critical skills.                                               

Past Recipients

Year    Recipient
2021     International Rescue Committee (IRC) Education team
2020    Dr. Kimberlé Crenshaw
2019    iCivcs
2018    Jim Cummins
2017    The International Research Foundation for English Language Education (TIRF)
2016    International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language (IATEFL)
   Linda Darling Hammond
2014    British Council
2013    Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program
2012    BRAC Education Programme
2011    Association of Binational Centers in Latin America (ABLA)
2010    The Peace Corps
2009    Sen. Gilbert Cedillo & UCLA Improving Dreams, Equality, Access & Success (IDEAS)
2008    Laurie Olsen
2007    Li Ka-shing
2006    American Civil Liberties Union
2005    Claudio Sanchez
2004    Howard Gardner
2003    Morris Dees
2002    John H. Flavell
2001    The Spencer Foundation
2000    Milton Wong
1999    UNICEF Education for Development Unit
1998    James Banks
1997    Charles Ferguson
1996    The Center for International Exchange of Scholars
1995    Le Ly Hayslip 
1994    George Soros
1993    Hillary Rodham Clinton
1992    Lt. Governor David C. Lam
1991    Paulo Freire
1988    Senator Paul Simon