The D. Scott Enright TESOL Interest Section Service Award

Who's Eligible?

Any TESOL member in good standing


To acknowledge outstanding and extended service to and leadership in TESOL Interest Sections (ISs).
This award was first granted in 1993 to D. Scott Enright, who passed away in 1994, to recognize his leadership as a member and chair of the Elementary Education Interest Section and his work on behalf of all TESOL ISs while he served as IS representative on the TESOL Board of Directors from 1989 to 1992.


The recipient will receive a complementary registration to the annual TESOL convention. A commemorative plaque is presented at the TESOL convention and the recipient’s name is placed on a permanent plaque at the TESOL office. One award is presented each year.


The recipient is selected based on evidence of 
  • extraordinary service to a particular TESOL interest section
  • notable leadership within a particular TESOL interest section
  • the ability to stimulate professional interchange among TESOL interest section members
  • the ability to foster and mentor professional development among TESOL members through TESOL interest section involvement
  • the ability to communicate interest section concerns to the larger TESOL membership 
Download the evaluation rubric.

How to Apply

To Nominate a Colleague

Candidate Information
Please provide the candidate's
  • full name
  • institution (place of work)
  • email address
  • phone number
Letter of Nomination
The letter of nomination should:
  • describe the candidate in terms of the criteria listed above, providing examples of the nominee’s strengths in these areas
  • list chronologically the nominee’s service to a TESOL Interest Section

To Nominate Yourself

Candidate Information
Please provide your
  • full name
  • institution (place of work)
  • email address
  • phone number
Letter of Support
The letter of support should:
  • come from another TESOL member who can comment on your strengths in terms of the criteria above and list chronologically your service to a TESOL Interest Section
Additional Letter of Support
If the nominator is a group, a letter of support is not required.

If the nominator is an individual, he or she must solicit a letter of support from another TESOL member who can comment on the nominee's strengths in terms of the criteria listed above.

You will be asked to provide a contact email address for the person(s) writing the letter(s) of support. They will receive a message from at the address you provide inviting them to upload their letter directly to the application system. Please ask the letter writer to watch for a message from To ensure that the letter writer receives the message, please ask the writer to add ​ to his/her contacts or spam whitelist.

If the writer does not receive the message, please contact TESOL Awards.

Nomination Deadline

Applications and/or nominations are being accepted starting 1 July. All applications must be submitted by the deadline of 1 November.

Past Award Recipients

Nikki Ashcraft2017 Recipient: Nikki Ashcraft 
Dr. Nikki Ashcraft is an assistant teaching professor in the TESOL program at the University of Missouri. She served as chair of the Teacher Education Interest Section 2014–2015 and is currently its community manager.  An advocate for interest section participation, she asks, “Have you joined an interest section?”

 View a list of past recipients.


Please contact TESOL Awards.

Apply Now