This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Presents Awards for Excellence at 2013 Annual Convention & English Language Expo

by User Not Found | 03/20/2013
TESOL International Association, the professional association for English language educators worldwide, announces the winners of its 2013 awards. These award winners were selected for their service to the association and scholarship to the field of English language teaching.

The association’s highest honor, the James Alatis Award for Service to TESOL, is presented to George Braine. Named after the founder of TESOL International Association, the award is in recognition of Dr. Braine’s many years of service to the association and to the field. He has more than 40 years of experience in teaching English as a foreign/second language and has taught students from a variety of language backgrounds in Sri Lanka, Oman, the United States, and Hong Kong. 

The TESOL Presidents’ Award is presented to the Fulbright Teacher Exchange Program in recognition of their work to improve mutual understanding among teachers, their schools, and their communities in the United States. and abroad. The Presidents’ Award is presented to an individual or organization outside of the field that has demonstrated a commitment to education.

The Outstanding U.S. Advocate Honor is presented to Texas State Representative Roberto Alonzo. The honor is presented annually to an individual outside the TESOL field who has advocated for English language learners and the field of English language teaching. The honoree is selected by the TESOL affiliate hosting the annual convention. Representative Alonzo is being recognized for his leadership and support for advancing the field of ESL and bilingual education in Texas.

The full list of 2013 award recipients is as follows:

The award winners will be recognized and presented their awards at the 2013 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo, 20-23 March in Dallas, Texas USA.

TESOL thanks the College Board for their generous sponsorship of the Teacher as Classroom Action Researcher Award, East Carolina University for their sponsorship of the Outstanding Paper on NNEST Issues Award, National Geographic Learning for their sponsorship of the TESOL Teacher of the Year Award, and ETS TOEFL for their sponsorship of the Award for Distinguished Research.

About TESOL International Association

Founded in 1966, TESOL International Association is a professional community of educators, researchers, administrators and students committed to advancing excellence in English language teaching for speakers of other languages worldwide. With more than 12,500 members representing over 156 countries, TESOL fosters the exchange of ideas, research, and peer-to-peer knowledge, and provides expertise, resources, and a powerful voice on issues affecting the profession. Through professional development programs, its international conference, special interest groups, and publications, TESOL engages tens of thousands of professionals to collaborate globally and create a world of opportunity for millions of people of all ages who want to learn English.

Download this press release.