This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Installs New President, Board Members

by David Cutler | 04/25/2017
​TESOL International Association, the professional association for English language educators worldwide, recently installed Dr. Ester de Jong as its new president, along with four new board members at the TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo held 21–24 March 2017 in Seattle, Washington, USA. 

De Jong has served as a professor in the School of Teaching and Learning at the University of Florida since 2014, teaching courses in bilingual and bicultural education, and in methods, curriculum, and assessment for English learners. Her research interests include two-way bilingual education and other integrated models for language minority schooling, educational language policy, and teacher preparation for bilingual students. De Jong will serve a one-year term as the association’s 52nd president.

In addition, Dr. Luciana de Oliveira of the University of Miami in Miami, Florida was installed as president-elect. She serves as chair of the Department of Teaching and Learning within the School of Education and Human Development

Other newly installed board members were Dr. Leslie Barratt, Roi Et Rajabhat University, Roi Et, Thailand; and Dr. Lawrence Zhang, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand. 

After serving as the association’s 51st president, Dr. Dudley Reynolds, Carnegie Mellon University Qatar, moved to the post of past-president. Officers and Board members whose terms expired in March were Dr. Andy Curtis, Anaheim University, Anaheim, California; Dr. Deborah Healey, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon; and Dr. Aya Matsuda, Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona. 
Download a copy of the full press release here