This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Announces 2018 James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL

by David Cutler | 11/09/2017
2018 Alatis Award Recipient Christine CoombeTESOL International Association announced today that Christine Coombe is the 2018 recipient of the James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL. The award honors outstanding and extended service by TESOL members at international, regional, and local levels. The award will be presented to Coombe at the James E. Alatis Plenary during the 2018 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

Christine Coombe, former president of TESOL International Association (2011–2012), served as the 2006 TESOL Convention chair in addition to two terms on the TESOL Board of Directors. Recently, she served on the TESOL Research Agenda task force and was selected as one of the 50 at 50, individuals who have made ​key contributions to the profession in the past 50 years.

Coombe serves as a professor at Dubai Men’s College, Higher Colleges of Technology, and has taken on leadership roles with TESOL Arabia, having held almost every leadership position in the association including eight times as conference chair.
She has numerous publications in the assessment field including three with TESOL Press and is one of the editors of the upcoming Wiley/TESOL Press publication, TESOL Encyclopedia. Christine is a widely sought after speaker on assessment.

“As a tireless advocate for English language teachers around the world, Christine exemplifies the vision represented by the Alatis Award,” said TESOL President Ester de Jong. “Her leadership in TESOL International Association and TESOL Arabia has been central in moving our research agenda forward and strengthening our connections with affiliates worldwide,” de Jong noted.

The James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL originated in 1987 to honor James E. Alatis for his 21 years of devoted service as TESOL's first executive director. Alatis was a charter member of TESOL International Association and dean emeritus of the School of Languages and Linguistics at Georgetown University.

Download a copy of the full press release here