This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL Announces Inaugural Rosa Aronson Scholarship Recipients

by David Cutler | 12/14/2017
TESOL International Association is excited to announce the first recipients of the Rosa Aronson TESOL Professional Learning Scholarship. Established to honor former TESOL Executive Director Rosa Aronson when she retired in March 2017, the scholarships provide professional learning opportunities for TESOL professionals from countries with a gross national income of US $15,000 or less per capita as defined by the World Bank. Aronson served as the executive director of TESOL from 2010 to 2017, so the seven scholarships awarded annually recognize each year of her service. Each $500 scholarship can be used to cover the cost of a Global Professional membership as well as any professional learning opportunity offered by TESOL.

This year’s scholarship recipients are

• Lorna Viveka Alba, Centro Boliviano Americano, Bolivia
• Mary Magdaline Fuwain Atah, Government Bilingual High School, Cameroon
• Lester Luna, HOPE Worldwide Foundation, Nicaragua
• Muhammad Shahbaz, Government College Women University, Pakistan
• Fauzul Aufa, Universitas Negeri Padang, Indonesia
• Saifa Haque, East West University, Bangladesh 
• Anastasiya Bezborodova, Westminster International University in Tashkent, Uzbekistan 

For more information about this new scholarship and how to apply in 2018, please visit the TESOL Award webpage.

Download a copy of the full press release here