This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

Beth Witt Named Recipient of 2020 James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL

by David Cutler | 02/19/2020
TESOL International Association is pleased to announce that Beth Witt is the 2020 recipient of the James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL. The award honors outstanding and extended service by TESOL members at international, regional, and local levels. The award will be presented to Witt at the James E. Alatis Plenary during the 2020 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo in Denver, Colorado, USA.

An active TESOL member since 1973, Witt has enjoyed a career as a bilingual K-1 teacher in Texas, USA and as a resource and elementary teacher in the Chinle Unified School District on the Navajo Nation in Arizona, USA. Highlights of Witt’s extensive service to the Association include serving two separate terms on the TESOL Board of Directors, holding various leadership positions within TESOL’s affiliate in Arizona, USA, AZTESOL, serving as Chair of the Elementary Education Interest Section, and serving as Chair of the TESOL Convention in 1994 and 2002. 

While highlighting Witt’s service to the Association, TESOL President Deborah Healey remarked, “Dedication to TESOL International Association has been at the heart of Beth’s long and distinguished career. Whether teaching in Rwanda, the Navajo Nation, or China, Beth personified excellence in her exemplary service to the Association and TESOL profession. We are incredibly grateful for Beth’s commitment to TESOL and are appreciative that we will continue to benefit from her service as an affiliate leader and her desire to help others tell their stories.”

The James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL was established in 1987 to honor James E. Alatis for his 21 years of devoted service as TESOL's first executive director. Alatis was a charter member of TESOL International Association and dean emeritus of the School of Languages and Linguistics at Georgetown University.

Download a copy of the full press release here