This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL International Association Recognizes 2020 Award Recipients

by David Cutler | 04/02/2020
Every year, TESOL International Association (TESOL) offers more than 80 awards through its Awards, Honors, and Grants Program. Nearly 100 TESOL members volunteer to support these awards by reviewing applications. TESOL is pleased to recognize the following recipients for their service to the association and/or scholarship in the field of English language teaching. The 2020 TESOL award recipients include:

· The Mary Finocchiaro Award for Excellence in Unpublished Pedagogical Materials: Linda Sims, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

· The Ruth Crymes TESOL Fellowship for Graduate Study: Haemin Kim, Texas A&M University, USA

· The TESOL Award for an Outstanding Paper on NNEST Issues: Juyoung Song, Murray State University, USA

· The D. Scott Enright TESOL Interest Section Service Award: Laura Baecher, Hunter College, City University of New York, USA

· The TESOL Award for Distinguished Research: Amanda K. Kibler, Oregon State University, USA

· The TESOL Virginia French Allen Award for Scholarship and Service: Gabriel Diaz Maggioli, educator, Uruguay

· The Ron Chang Lee Award for Excellence in Classroom Technology: Ivonne Gonzalez (First Place), Universidad de La Sabana, Colombia; Kazuya Shida (Second Place), IEP educator; and Katherine Hardin (Third Place), Migration and Refugee Services, USA.

TESOL previously announced the 2020 recipients of the James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL: Beth Witt and TESOL Teacher of the Year (sponsored by National Geographic Learning): Neda Sahranavard. Due to the cancellation of the 2020 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo, all TESOL award winners will be recognized on the TESOL website and social media channels this spring and summer.

TESOL awards scholarships and travel grants to enable members to attend the annual TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo. Over 40 individuals received grants and scholarships in 2020. Sponsors of these awards include Betty Azar, ETS/TOEFL, Eastern Carolina University, and the English Language Institute, University of Pittsburgh.

To support TESOL’s awards and grants through a donation, please visit our website.

Download a copy of the full press release here