This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL International Association Installs New President, Board Members

by David Cutler | 04/13/2020
TESOL International Association (TESOL), the trusted global authority for knowledge and expertise in English language teaching, recently installed Deborah Short as its new president, along with three new board members.

Short is the founder of Academic Language Research & Training in Virginia, USA, a consulting company that provides professional development to educators on content-based English as a second language (ESL), sheltered instruction, and academic literacy. Previously, Short was a division director at the Center for Applied Linguistics where she co-developed the research-validated Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol (SIOP) Model for sheltered instruction. Additionally, Short led the first ESL Standards project and was series editor of the best-selling 6 Principles® series of products for TESOL.

Gabriela Kleckova, Chair of the English Department at the University of West Bohemia in Plzen, Czech Republic, was installed as president-elect. Kleckova is also an educational consultant for The Kellner Family Foundation. Prior to her election as president-elect, Kleckova served on the TESOL Board of Directors from 2012-2015.

Other newly installed board members include Ayanna Cooper, A. Cooper Consulting, Georgia, USA, and Christopher Hastings, Southwest Tennessee Community College, Tennessee, USA.

Deborah Healey, president from 2019-2020, University of Oregon, Oregon, USA, now serves as past president. 

TESOL recognizes the service and dedication of its departing officers and board members. Board members whose terms expired in March include: Luciana C. de Oliveira, University of Miami, Florida, USA; Leslie Barratt, Rajabhat Roi-Et University, Thailand; and Lawrence Zhang, University of Auckland, New Zealand.

Download a copy of the full press release here