This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL International Association Installs New President and Board Members

by David Cutler | 03/29/2021

TESOL International Association (TESOL), the trusted global authority for knowledge and expertise in English language teaching, recently installed Gabriela Kleckova as its new president, along with four new board members during the association’s Annual Business Meeting, which took place at the virtual 2021 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo.

Kleckova is currently the chair of the English Department at the University of West Bohemia in Plzen, Czech Republic. She is also an educational consultant for The Kellner Family Foundation. Prior to her election in 2020, Kleckova served on the TESOL Board of Directors from 2012–2015.

Joyce Kling, University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark, was installed as president-elect. Prior to her election, Kling served on the TESOL Board of Directors from 2006–2009.

Other newly installed board members include Tamara Jones, Howard Community College, Maryland, USA; Graciela Martin, Instituto Cultural Argentino Norteamericano, Buenos Aires, Argentina; and Mawa Samb, Centre Régional de Formation des Personnels de l'Education, Dakar, Senegal.

Deborah Short, president from 2020–2021, now serves as past president of TESOL. 

TESOL also recognizes the service and dedication of its departing officers and board members. Board members whose terms expired in March include Christel Broady, Georgetown College, Kentucky, USA; Katherine Lobo, Newton Public Schools, Massachusetts, USA; and Joe McVeigh, Saint Michael’s College, Vermont, USA. Deborah Healey, University of Oregon, Oregon, USA also rotated off the board after serving as the association’s past president.

Download a copy of the full press release here