This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.

TESOL International Association Installs New President and Board Members

by Juliet Mason | 04/01/2022

TESOL International Association (TESOL), the trusted global authority for knowledge and expertise in English language teaching, recently installed Joyce Kling as its 2022-2023 president, along with three new board members during the association’s Annual Business Meeting, which took place during the 2022 TESOL International Convention & English Language Expo

Kling is currently associate professor in the Department of English, Germanic and Romance Studies at the University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark. With deep roots in both academic research and the practice of teaching, Kling has also worked at the U.S. State Department as a language specialist. She has served on several key TESOL committees, including Finance and Operations, and sat on TESOL’s Board of Directors from 2006 – 2009. 

Shelley Taylor, Western University, Ontario, Canada was installed as president-elect.  Prior to her election, Taylor was a frequent presenter and a contributor to TESOL publications and scholarly research as well as a TESOL Board member from 2016 - 2019. 

Other newly installed board members include Elisabeth Chan, Northern Virginia Community College, Va., USA; Raichle Farrelly, University of Colorado, Colo., USA; and Kate Mastruserio Reynolds, Central Washington University, Wash., USA. 

TESOL also recognizes the service and dedication of its departing officers and board members. Board members whose terms expired in March include Grazzia Mendoza Chirinos, USAID Honduras, Honduras; Justin Shewell, Arizona State University, Ariz., USA; Debra Suarez, U.S. Department of Education, Washington, D.C. Deborah Short, Academic Language Research & Training, Va., USA also rotated off the board after serving as the association’s past president. 

Read full press release