Skip to main content

Grants and Awards

TESOL Outstanding Advocate Honor Award


To recognize an exceptional leader and professional who has demonstrated outstanding advocacy efforts in the TESOL field that are aligned with the vision, mission, values, and commitments of the association.

How to Apply

TESOL members in good standing who are public officials, institutional leaders, or community professionals. Any TESOL member may nominate another member for this award.

A commemorative plaque is given to the recipient.

The recipient is selected according to evidence of:

  • Dedication, leadership, and efforts that have positively affected a policy or change with direct positive impact on multilingual learners and/or TESOL professionals.
  • A long-standing commitment to equity, diversity, inclusion, and access in the TESOL field. 
  • Advocacy efforts that have effected positive change over a period of time, commitment, and passion for advocacy.

You will be asked for the following information to complete the nomination process. You are strongly encouraged to gather this information before you begin the application to expedite the nomination process. 

  • Nominee's information: full name, institution (place of work), place of residence (city, state/province, country), email address, and phone number. 
  • The nominee's professional bio.
  • Description of the nominee's achievements and activities that demostrate their advocacy at the local/public level and efforts towards advancing DEIA (500 words max). 
  • The nominee's CV (5 pages max).

For more details, please see the Evaluation Rubric.    

Apply Now

Submit Your Online Application

The application deadline is 15 September.

2024 Recipient

Amira Salama is an English instructor at Nile University, Egypt. She is the incoming chair of the TESOL Research Professional Council, the past president of Africa ELTA, and the Africa ELTA 2024 Conference co-chair. She has a master’s in TESOL, from the American University in Cairo, and is pursuing her Ph.D.  

Past Award Recipients

View a list of past recipients. 


Please contact TESOL Awards.

This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.