Skip to main content

Grants and Awards

The James E. Alatis Award for Service to TESOL


To acknowledge outstanding and extended service by a TESOL member. This award was established in 1987 to honor James E. Alatis, TESOL's first executive director, for his 21 years of devoted service.

How to Apply

Any TESOL member may nominate another TESOL member for this award. Former TESOL staff and board members may be nominated three (3) years after completion of their term of service.

A commemorative plaque is presented to the recipient at the annual TESOL convention, and the recipient's name is placed on a permanent plaque containing the names of all previous winners that hangs in the TESOL office. One award is presented each year.

The recipient is selected according to evidence of:

  • Genuine and long-lasting support of TESOL International Association through leadership and service.
  • Exemplary professionalism and representation of TESOL values of professionalism, respect, integrity, and lifelong learning.
  • Commitment to the mission of TESOL.
  • Dedication to the field/the profession.

For more details, please see the Evaluation Rubric.

Support of the nomination by two other TESOL members is required. You will be asked for the following information to complete the nomination process. You are strongly encouraged to gather this information before you begin the application to expedite the nomination process.

  1. Nominee’s Information: full name, institution (place of work), place of residence (city, state/province, country), email address, phone number.
  2. Description of the nominee’s achievements and activities that demonstrate their commitment to the TESOL values of professionalism, respect, integrity, and lifelong learning and show they are an ambassador for the association and the profession (max 500 words).
  3. List of the nominee’s leadership roles/service, dates of service that they have had within TESOL International Association.
  4. List of the nominee’s leadership roles/service, dates of service that they have had outside TESOL International Association and are relevant to the profession.
  5. The nominee’s professional bio (max 300 words).
  6. Any additional information about the nominee’s professionalism and commitment to the mission of the organization and the TESOL profession (max 400 words).
  7. Names and email addresses of two other TESOL members who support the nomination.

Apply Now

Submit Your Online Application

The application deadline is 15 September.

2024 Recipient

While also teaching English or serving as an educational consultant in many countries around the world, Brock Brady has been a committed presence as a TESOL volunteer. He served as president of the Washington, D.C. Area TESOL (WATESOL), was a program cochair for the 50th TESOL convention, served as a TESOL board member, president-elect, president, and past president, and has maintained an ongoing role as a member of the TESOL Leadership Mentoring Program. He holds degrees from Reed College and Portland State University. 

Past Award Recipients

View a list of past recipients.


Please contact TESOL Awards, Honors, & Grants.

This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.