Skip to main content

Grants and Awards

The Ron Chang Lee Award

Excellence in Classroom Technology


To honor three TESOL members who have achieved excellence through the implementation of technology in ELT, this award was created in 2018 and is presented by Ron Chang Lee.

Ron Lee started in language technology by developing his website in 1994. He is considered a pioneer in CALL (Computer Assisted Language Learning). After that, Ron launched another site to host more free English learning materials, which help ELT instructors and students.

Application Deadline

Applications are due 15 September 2023.

How to Apply

TESOL members in good standing who:

  • Have been a classroom teacher for a minimum of two years.
  • Have personally designed and used the materials for this award.

IMPORTANT: On the basis of the best information currently available to the United States Department of the Treasury, the following countries require or may require participation in, or cooperation with, an international boycott (within the meaning of section 999(b)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986). The boycotted countries are Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, and Yemen. As a result, TESOL International Association cannot send funds or issue awards to recipients of these countries. Award applications received from residents of these countries will be removed from consideration. We apologize to those individuals affected.

First Place: U.S.$1000
Second Place: U.S.$750
Third Place: U.S.$500

Submit a lesson using original, innovative CALL pedagogical materials directly applicable to ELT teaching and appropriate for the teaching context within which they have been implemented.

Submissions specific to English language learning should demonstrate CALL technology in teaching, for example, lessons using computers, software, websites, classroom tools, mobile devices, apps, digital resources, augmented/virtual reality, or online games.

All submissions must contain implementation guides (directions or lesson plan), and demonstrate principles of language pedagogy or methodology as reflected in the TESOL Technology Standards Framework. The technology lesson must have been used in teaching within two years of the award application. The work will be evaluated using the following criteria.

Please note that research papers on technology do not count as eligible lessons for this award.

  • Lesson features the latest in CALL technology or an innovative use of existing technology.
  • Materials or techniques are engaging and innovative in the field of ESL/EFL teaching.
  • Lesson represents a practical application of current language learning research or teaching methodology using CALL technology.

Directions include a clear indication of language level and target population.

  • The directions/lesson plan are clear for teachers and learners.
  • The materials show a clear rationale or theoretical basis.
  • The technology lesson has been used in the classroom (include dates) at least one cycle (unit, semester, term, etc.) within two years of the award application date.
  • The materials include student learning outcomes and plan for assessment. 
  • The materials have been edited or improved based on teacher reflection of expected and actual results.

For more details, please see the Evaluation Rubric

Please submit the following information.

  • An anonymous copy of the lesson materials (no more than 4 pages):
    • Include links to any online websites, apps, materials, etc.
    • Include clear implementation guide and any other teacher notes (sample lesson plan).
    • Include student learning outcomes and plan for assessment.
  • An anonymous statement (1000 words maximum) describing the following:
    • The rationale or theoretical basis.
    • The target population and language level, including age of learners, or any special features of the language learning context.
    • Innovative qualities of the materials, how the materials incorporate current research in TESOL.
    • Reflection on previous use of technology lesson in the classroom and how teacher reflection/student feedback informed any changes. 

Apply Now

Submit Your Online Application

The application deadline is 15 September 2023.

2023 Recipients

William Newman teaches English learners at Ballou High School in Washington, DC, and has taught in China, Australia, and Mississippi.  He is a graduate of Tulane University and the University of Southern Mississippi and currently spends his summers studying at the Graduate Institute at St. John's College in Annapolis, Maryland.

Jesús G. Flores received his PhD with honors. He has experience in both developing and implementing cutting-edge programs for teachers and instilling best practices in education. He works with educational leaders in multicultural settings. He has a creative mind and does a fantastic job of steering others into new endeavors.

Past Recipients

View the list of past recipients.


Please contact TESOL Awards.

This website uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of code that gives your computer a unique identity, but it does not contain any information that allows us to identify you personally. For more information on how TESOL International Association uses cookies, please read our privacy policy. Most browsers automatically accept cookies, but if you prefer, you can opt out by changing your browser settings.