About TESOL Banner

Nominating Committee


The Nominating Committee solicits nominations from the membership entities, standing committees, and other TESOL constituencies, and from the membership for TESOL leadership elections: president, board of directors, and the next year's Nominating Committee.


Members maintain communications with the chair, with most of these communications being held in the first half of the calendar year. The bulk of the committee's work is done in June and July and members must be available for a series of conference calls during that time. Members participate in all committee conference call meetings and attend meetings at the annual convention.


Members must be TESOL members in good standing for at least four of the previous ten years and familiar with the TESOL organization. Familiarity with TESOL is demonstrated by strong service to TESOL within the past six years. Such service includes one or more of the following:
  • active membership in a standing committee, task force, or special project
  • past service on the board of directors

Expression of Interest Form

Members interested in serving on the Nominating Committee should read the position requirements and fill out an expression of interest Form.

Members, 2017–2018

Chair: Heather Linville
Board Liaison: Dudley Reynolds
Staff Liaison: Rita Buckner

Okon Effiong
Chris Hastings
Valerie S. Jakar
Mark D. Johnson
Tamara Jones
Leslie Kirshner-Morris
Mary A. Petron
Isabela F. Villas Boas